The Advanced Prostate Cancer Support Group out of Brisbane, is pleased to announce the phone in support group meetings.

The meetings occur on the fourth Friday of every month.

Next phone in meeting is Friday 28th February 2021.

If you are a man with Advanced Prostate Cancer, or a family member of a man with Advanced Prostate Cancer, and would like to talk to other men with Advanced Prostate Cancer, you could join with us on Telephone Meeting. 

Call in times for your State or Territory are listed below.

Sharing your story with people in similar situations can be very helpful for many people.

Please join us, no obligations, but you just might hear something that could make a difference in your life or make a difference to someone else's life.

Remember: People that take an active interest in their own health, with the help and support of others, live longer.

We are not Doctors, No medical advice is given.

At our phone meetings, we sometimes share very personal and private details about our lives. We ask each participant to respect this. If you wish to repeat stories outside the meeting, do so without identifying specific individuals. A qualified medical professional should always be consulted before applying any information obtained from this forum.

 

Details, your states local time, for you joining the meeting in your State:

  • 9.30am Sydney Melbourne and Hobart
  • 9.00am Adelaide
  • 8.30am Brisbane
  • 6.30am Perth

 

Your dial-in instructions:
Phone 1300 289 804 from anywhere in Australia.
Your access code: 4448 6738 #

Or access locally:

  • Canberra 02 6210 0851
  • Sydney 02 9696 0774
  • Hobart 03 6218 0647
  • Melbourne 03 8687 0635
  • Brisbane 07 3811 0988
  • Gold Coast 07 5560 0956
  • Adelaide 08 8220 0836
  • Darwin 08 8989 0817
  • Perth 08 9460 0829

Your access code: 4448 6738#
Contact: Nev Black 0419 673 096 if you require further details.

 

Advanced Prostate Cancer Phone In Support Meetings: 

This service is available to anyone who is affected by advanced prostate cancer.
Feel free to follow the directions below and join in on a meeting.

 

Please note daylight savings times:

  • 9.30 am - 11.00 am (Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart)
  • 9.00 am - 10.30 am (Adelaide)
  • 8.30 am - 10.00 am (Brisbane)
  • 6.30 am - 8.00 am (Perth)

 

Advanced Prostate Cancer Phone in Guidelines

Late starters
Maybe you haven't had access to the agenda or you have late breaking news you would like to share. Tell the chairman here at the beginning of the meeting that you would like to speak, and he will fit you in - probably later, perhaps right now if that suits.

Roundtable - new stories, updates, questions
Any member who wishes is welcome to contribute here.

Formal end
The Chair will declare the formal part of the teleconference closed at his discretion, perhaps around 11am.

Informal chat
Any topic you like - topics we didn't reach, something discussed earlier you wish to comment on, an update on your health, how your new boat is going, moaning about the weather, anything that you wish to say.

Disclaimer
This Community does not give medical advice. No members are authorised to give medical advice. Ask your doctor if you hear anything here that you think may be related to your treatment.

Mobile phone warning
The costs of mobile calls are nothing to do with the Group or with PCFA.
They are between you and your phone provider (Optus, Telstra, Virgin, Vodafone, etc).
If you dial one of the capital city numbers given above from a mobile phone, the cost to you will be the cost on your mobile phone plan. If your plan gives you free, or low cost local calls, and you are in one of these cities, it should be free, or a local call. If your plan gives you free, or local cost national calls that should work too.
Be sure - call your provider, give the number you might be calling, and check the cost for you to call that number.

Speaking time
We want many voices to be heard. If you are a member listed to speak below, the chair will probably expect you to take no more than about 5 minutes on presentation so there is plenty of time for others to respond.
Special Guest Speakers are invited to speak for 10-15 minutes, then field questions.

 

Guidelines

No noise
House - radio, TV, computer, pets, other phones, conversation Yourself - mute button, or mouthpiece away from mouth
Phone - call waiting off (#43#), Mute button or hang up to leave the room. No mute button? ##4 to mute, ##5 to unmute. Cordless phone - don't carry, put on folded handkerchief to limit reverberation Other calls - Please do NOT use call waiting or another line on the same phone to take another call - members around Australia are left listening to your 'hold' music until you return.

Speaker phone
Please do NOT use a speaker phone, unless you are very good at keeping it Mute, and at lifting and using the hand piece when you wish to join in the conversation.

Mobile phone
You will need enough charge for the length of the call, or take the call with your charger plugged in.

Speaking
Speak clearly into mouthpiece in ordinary voice.
Say who you are when signing in, and each time you speak.
Listen for the gavel. The Chair may need to interrupt.
It's a meeting of 20 people, not a simple phone conversation. If you are not one of the two people in the particular conversation at the time, keep your mute button down and let others contribute.

Restarting
You may hang up and sign in again as many times as necessary. Sometimes we may have to restart the meeting - dial in again. With everyone calling at once you may need to try more than once.

Location of Meeting

National Group
St Leonards NSW 2065

Contact(s)

Nev Black
0419 673 096